Silent Night

The temperature was 15 degrees tonight, with a “real feel” of -2. I always make it a point to go skating on 12/24 and 12/25, even if it’s just briefly. I also always make it a point to go skating on the coldest day of the year. Today happened to be both 12/24, and the coldest day we’ve had so far. I was definitely going skating.

This evening I took my 74-year-old mom out for a drive—we went around and looked at Christmas lights. Afterwards I went skating for a bit a little DIY spot an old friend made in a parking garage. I had a ton of layers on, and within 10 min I was sweating like crazy. Sweating, in 15-degree weather. When people tell me it’s too cold to skate, it means either one of three things. First, they don’t know how to dress. Second, they don’t want it bad enough. Or last, they live in one of those places where the temps go down to like -30 Fahrenheit. I had fun on my skateboard tonight. That’s the Christmas gift that keeps on giving.

Chris Battle @TheLoneSentry