Madness, In a Sleek New 14.25

With the 14.5” bracket out of the way, we are now moving to deep-territory Madness: 14.25wb decks. This is deep madness because I’ve tried these before, several times, and hated them each time. This is deep Madness because there is that old definition, what is madness? Trying something over and over, and expecting a different result. Well, I’m trying them again. Sort of. There is slight, nuanced difference this time. In wake of the 8.75, I realized that I might like wider trucks/decks, even on my street board (normally ride 8.25/144s). So, this time around I am trying two 14.25wb decks with 149s. Note, that this current episode of Madness started while trying to figure out a bigger board for transition, but ended with questions about my street set-up, too. So, I just decided to do the full run of deck experiments for both ramp and street, and we are now moving into the street area. However, I don’t think this bracket is going to last long, at all. There was a tell-tale sign tonight. After work I set up one of the 14.25 decks (DLX 8.4"). As soon as I looked at it, as a complete, I thought, “Oh, yeah…I now distinctly remember not liking this thing. Like, maybe even hating it.” The other 14.25” deck I have is a DLX 8.5”. Both the 8.4 and the 8.5 have better (shape) ratios than the 8.38 (see previous post), but they both also have more rounded nose/tails…and we already know I am not a big fan of those. So, this 14.25” bracket may find a swift, and total, demise.

Chris Battle @TheLoneSentry