My Essential Skate Gear, Part III: Battle Armor

This is the third post in “My Essential Skate Gear” series (posts made in the order of importance). First, we needed the actual board, board tools, and shoes. Second, we needed stuff to (a) fend off winter climate, and (b) do some minor spot maintenance. Now, we need to fend off injury and/or provide for some mental confidence. Thus, we have entered into the lands of pads/safety gear.

I mentioned in the last post that I won’t even do stall tricks on a curb anymore without a forward elbow pad. Truth of the matter is, once I start moving tricks (e.g. any grind/slide, anything on a ramp, etc.), I really don’t like skating, at all, without pads these days. I could go on-and-on about why pads are awesome, but I’ll save that for a future post(s). In any event, below is the gear list/photo. I (usually) don’t wear all of this stuff at the same time. See comments for details.

• Knee Pads (187 Pro)
• Elbow Pads (Pro-Designed/Rector)
• Helmet (certified)
• Knee Gaskets (Old Bones Therapy)
• Shin Guards (G-Form)
• Hip/Tailbone Pads (rHip clHips or Tortoise)
• Wrist Guards (Pro-Designed)
• Tall Socks
• BDU Shorts

Comments:
Knee and Elbow Pads: These are the most vital/often used.

Gaskets: Used any time knee pads are used (as are shorts/long socks). The all-black gasket has a spring in it, which helps with my bad knee (which has been thankfully getting better).

Helmet: Goes on once ramps get involved, or often when skating alone (should prolly just wear it all the time).

Hip/Tailbone Pads: These come out in three situations, (1) Tying something with high-chance of hard hit to hip/tailbone, (2) trying something I am really scared of, and need a little more mental confidence, (3) already have a hipper that I don’t want to get worse. The rHip Clips are just for hip protection (they clip into belt/waistband, take seconds to put on/take off). The Tortoise Pads cover hips and tailbone, but are way more bulky/involved to wear/use. Those only come out when shit is getting serious.

Shin Guards: I’ll be honest. At this point, I should not step on a skateboard without these, but I forgo them far more often than I should. I hit my shins a lot. Not only do shinners seem to hurt more, but they also get cut open much more now than when I was younger. The skin down there just does not have the youthful pliability it once did (this is also why I always wear tall socks…I absolutely refuse to skate with bare-exposed shins these days). Anyway, note to self: wear shin guard more often—you know what happens when you don’t.

Wrist Guards: Essential item, but I almost never wear them. Then why are they essential? Because if I do get a wrist sprain (very, very, very rare), they help it from getting worse.

Shorts: I hate wearing knee pads with pants, so shorts are a must. BDU/rip-stop are super durable, and easy to move in.

Chris Battle @TheLoneSentry